Skip to content
Peterborough Counts — Peterborough, in numbers.Local help →

Peterborough · England

People and living standards

Peterborough council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Peterborough

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Peterborough local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 154,181 in 1991 to 224,757 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Peterborough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 158,128 people in 1996; 224,757 people in 2025. 42.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Peterborough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991154,181
1992155,438
1993155,664
1994158,024
1995158,741
1996158,128
1997156,407
1998155,877
1999156,520
2000156,616
2001157,439
2002158,794
2003160,778
2004163,485
2005167,220
2006169,887
2007172,443
2008176,027
2009178,963
2010181,762
2011184,457
2012188,675
2013192,488
2014195,766
2015200,246
2016205,091
2017208,237
2018211,037
2019213,026
2020213,718
2021216,470
2022218,712
2023221,822
2024224,152
2025224,757
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Peterborough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 36,022 people in 1996; 49,796 people in 2025. 38.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Peterborough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199135,373
199235,567
199335,694
199436,615
199536,502
199636,022
199735,309
199834,839
199934,630
200034,517
200134,305
200234,412
200334,707
200435,125
200535,560
200635,836
200736,162
200837,073
200937,917
201038,645
201139,250
201240,554
201341,675
201442,855
201544,153
201645,527
201746,505
201847,400
201947,847
202047,934
202148,221
202248,930
202349,780
202450,076
202549,796
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Peterborough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 100,757 people in 1996; 142,288 people in 2025. 41.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Peterborough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199198,231
199299,097
199399,080
1994100,238
1995100,925
1996100,757
199799,756
199899,664
1999100,264
2000100,230
2001100,982
2002102,128
2003103,582
2004105,562
2005108,633
2006110,957
2007112,997
2008115,237
2009116,933
2010118,596
2011120,131
2012122,159
2013124,181
2014125,659
2015128,267
2016131,197
2017132,888
2018134,271
2019135,245
2020135,433
2021137,446
2022138,532
2023140,282
2024141,774
2025142,288
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Peterborough council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,349 people in 1996; 32,673 people in 2025. 53% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Peterborough council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199120,577
199220,774
199320,890
199421,171
199521,314
199621,349
199721,342
199821,374
199921,626
200021,869
200122,152
200222,254
200322,489
200422,798
200523,027
200623,094
200723,284
200823,717
200924,113
201024,521
201125,076
201225,962
201326,632
201427,252
201527,826
201628,367
201728,844
201829,366
201929,934
202030,351
202130,803
202231,250
202331,760
202432,302
202532,673
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 215,670 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Peterborough · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh30,80114.3%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8,7514.1%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups7,6173.5%
White162,58175.4%
Other ethnic group5,9202.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 183,631 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Peterborough · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White151,54482.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4,9482.7%
Asian/Asian British21,49211.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4,1642.3%
Other ethnic group1,4830.8%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 156,061 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Peterborough · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White140,00389.7%
Mixed2,2891.5%
Asian/Asian British10,8667%
Black/Black British1,9281.2%
Chinese/Other9750.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 19.3% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Peterborough council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,840 per person in 1997; £20,966 per person in 2024. 113.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Peterborough council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,840
199810,093
199910,826
200011,464
200111,754
200211,913
200311,944
200412,125
200512,454
200613,083
200713,671
200813,855
200913,927
201014,136
201114,184
201214,510
201314,816
201415,409
201515,947
201616,087
201716,384
201816,636
201917,255
202017,456
202117,893
202218,974
202319,855
202420,966
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Peterborough council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -7.3% in 1997; -19.3% in 2024. 12 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Peterborough council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-7.3
1998-6.8
1999-4.3
2000-3.7
2001-5
2002-5.8
2003-8.4
2004-10.7
2005-11.4
2006-10.7
2007-10.9
2008-12
2009-13
2010-12.5
2011-12.9
2012-14.1
2013-15.4
2014-14.8
2015-16.2
2016-16.5
2017-16.8
2018-18.5
2019-18.1
2020-16.8
2021-18.1
2022-17.4
2023-18.8
2024-19.3
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

20%

21 March 2021 · Peterborough local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

22.4%

21 March 2021 · Peterborough local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.1%

21 March 2021 · Peterborough local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£235,000

July 2026 · Peterborough local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,012

August 2026 · Peterborough local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.